Key Stage 1

What is Key Stage 1?

Key Stage 1 comprises two year-groups: Year 1 (ages 5-6) and Year 2 (ages 6-7).  The underlying aim is to further build on the foundations laid in EYFS and continue to provide a safe, secure and stimulating learning environment that encourages children to become confident in their own abilities.

How is Key Stage 1 delivered?

The children follow the National Curriculum, sensitively adapted to meet the needs of the children at HJPS. This also incorporates learning opportunities which integrate Jewish Studies with the curriculum in a meaningful way. The programme for Years 1 and 2 also includes a vibrant creative curriculum, where lessons are planned to excite and inspire enthusiastic learners. The core subjects of Literacy, Numeracy and Science are taught, in addition to a number of ‘Foundation’ subjects. Cross-curricular links are made where possible, to make the learning journey more meaningful and relevant for the children.

In Key Stage 1 the timetable naturally becomes more structured and we continue to plan a programme that is broad and balanced so that children are engaged, work hard, yet continue to be challenged in a fun-filled environment. Whilst we regard the acquisition of traditional skills of reading, writing and maths as vital to their future learning, we are also aware of the importance of developing the ‘whole child.’ We aim to achieve this through lessons such as PSHE amongst others, which give the children opportunities to work collaboratively on a range of challenges which all serve to develop awareness and increase self-esteem.

Whilst carefully planning learning opportunities to meet all children, teachers’ pay particular attention to developing speaking, listening skills and collaborative learning, encouraging children to begin evaluating their own work and identifying their own areas for development.

Some of the highlights in Key Stage 1 include special theme days, theme weeks and trips.  In addition, the children experience a host of activities through primary school focus weeks such as ‘Book Week’.  The children also have the opportunity to take part in the Chagigat HaSiddur in Year 1. 

How do teachers implement the curriculum in Key Stage 1?

The ultimate focus in Key Stage 1 is on making the curriculum relevant, interesting and fun.  Teachers and support staff aim to guide, encourage and challenge the children; all within a caring and supportive environment that promotes independent lifelong learning.

Teacher/Parent partnership

Throughout the Key Stage, there is an emphasis on teachers and parents working in partnership to address the individual needs of each child and this is actively encouraged through face-to-face collection from the classroom door at the end of each day, regular meetings and an open-door policy allowing parents to discuss with teachers any issue which may impact on their child’s learning, with direct email addresses for parents to communicate with class teachers.

Jewish Studies in Key Stage 1

The main areas of learning in Key Stage 1 are:

  • Hebrew Reading: The innovative and dynamic Tal Am Hebrew Reading Programme is used throughout Key Stage 1 in order to ensure children become accurate and fluent Hebrew readers.
  • Hebrew Script: By the end of Key Stage 1, children are able to read and write Hebrew script with great accuracy.
  • Gematria: The numerical value of the Hebrew letters.
  • Chagim: The children develop their knowledge and understanding of all the Jewish festivals.
  • Parashah: The children have a weekly Parashah lesson in which the content of the Parashah as well as the values we can learn from it are discussed.
  • Jewish Living: The children develop their knowledge of topics such as Berachot, Kashrut and Tefillah.  This is done through “hands-on” and interactive workshops and projects.